The Papers of Martin Van Buren

MVB--MetInaugurated in 2014, The Papers of Martin Van Buren project aims to produce a one-volume letterpress edition of the eight president’s most important political papers and a digital edition of all of his documents, about half of which are held at the Library of Congress.

The project’s editors are James Bradley and Mark Cheathem, and its advisory board includes:

  • Dr. John L. Brooke, Humanities Distinguished Professor of History, The Ohio State University
  • Dr. Eric Cummings, Dean, School of Humanities, Education, and the Arts, Cumberland University
  • Dr. Daniel Feller, Professor of History and Chief Editor, The Papers of Andrew Jackson, University of Tennessee
  • Dr. George Franz, Pennsylvania State University Brandywine (emeritus), former Editor/Project Director, The Papers of Martin Van Buren microfilm edition
  • Dr. Reeve Huston, Associate Professor of History, Duke University
  • Prof. Jennifer Stertzer, Senior Editor, The Papers of George Washington and the Center for Digital Editing, University of Virginia
  • Dr. John F. Marszalek, Chief Editor, The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, Mississippi State University
  • Dr. C. William McKee, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Cumberland University
  • Ms. Ruth Piwonka, Historian, Columbia County, New York
  • Dr. Harry L. Watson, Atlanta Alumni Distinguished Professor of Southern Culture, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The Papers are on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s